Cooperation Agreement

This Cooperation Agreement (“CA“) consists of the following provisions as well as Annex 1 (“Brokerage Contract“) and Annex 2 (Platform Contract“), which form an integral part of this CA in their current version. This CA governs the relationship between you (“customer” or “you“) and esurance AG, Heinrichstrasse 269, 8005 Zurich (“esurance“, individually a “party” and collectively the “parties“).

By accepting this CA, you expressly confirm that you have read and understood the following provisions and the provisions in Annex 1 and Annex 2 and that you agree with them.

1. Scope of application and notes
esurance operates an insurance platform that connects insurance companies, policyholders and, if applicable, distribution partners. The offers on the platform can be purchased online directly, via an insurance expert from esurance or indirectly via a distribution partner. Depending on the cooperation model between esurance and the distribution partner, there is a purely software-based or a customer care relationship between the policyholder and esurance. The individual models are described below:

  • 1.1 Purely platform-based model: The customer uses the insurance platform without mandating esurance as an insurance intermediary (broker) or co-broker. The relationship between esurance and the customer solely covers the software use.
  • 1.2 Indirect brokerage model: The customer is already represented by another broker. This broker uses the insurance platform to provide its services. The customer can also use the insurance platform. esurance acts as a co-broker for the customer. There is a software usage and a co-customer support relationship between the customer and esurance.
  • 1.3 Direct brokerage model: The customer uses the insurance platform and mandates esurance as a broker. There is a software usage and customer care relationship between the customer and esurance. This model is applied by signing a broker mandate or by concluding a transaction without the assistance of an insurance intermediary.

The provisions in this CA apply to all models. The provisions in Annex 1 Brokerage Contract apply to the direct and indirect brokerage model. The provisions of Annex 2 Platform Contract apply to all models.

We would like to point out that by using the services and communication with esurance, you may be making use of the works and services of other providers (such as network operators, mobile phone companies, mail providers, etc.). The use of such works and services is subject to the terms of use of these providers and is independent of this CA.

2. Term of the Agreement and Termination
This CA comes into force with the consent of the customer. The duration and termination of this CA shall be governed by the provisions set out in Annex 1 and Annex 2.

3. Involvement of third parties
esurance is entitled to call in third parties for the provision of services. esurance remains responsible for compliance with contractual obligations and statutory regulations.

4. Data protection
esurance undertakes to comply with the legal provisions on data protection. esurance processes personal data of the customer in accordance with the data protection regulations (DPR), which explain in particular how and for what purposes esurance collects, uses, stores, forwards and protects the personal data provided by the customer. esurance may process personal data only for the following purposes: (i) to provide, develop or improve services under this CA. (ii) to take all necessary steps to comply with this CA. (iii) as documented elsewhere in the DPR. The DPR in their current version form an integral part of this CA. By agreeing to this CA, you declare that you have read and understood the DPR and expressly indicate your agreement with them.

The customer assures and guarantees that the processing of the personal data provided by esurance does not infringe any third party rights. The customer represents and warrants that he/she complies with all applicable legal provisions pertaining to the protection of privacy and data and that he/she has obtained all necessary rights and authorisations to disclose to esurance any personal data that he/she provides to esurance or to which esurance has access, and to allow the processing of such data.

5. Confidentiality

Both parties (“Disclosing Party“) may disclose to the other party (“Receiving Party“) confidential information, including information about the existence, services and further content of this CA and its annexes (“Confidential Information“). The Receiving Party undertakes to treat confidential information from the Disclosing Party with the same care it would apply to protect its own information of the same kind and, in any event, with reasonable care. The Receiving Party shall use Confidential Information solely for the purpose of providing, developing and improving its services or performing its obligations under this CA. The Receiving Party may only disclose Confidential Information to persons and third parties if this is necessary for the performance, development and improvement of its services or for the exercise of its obligations under this CA and if it is ensured that these persons are bound by provisions which are no less stringent than the provisions in this section. Furthermore, the parties may only disclose Confidential Information to third parties with the prior, express and written consent of the other party. This confidentiality obligation shall remain in force even after termination of this CA.

The following information is not considered confidential:

  • (i) information that has been made public and generally accessible, except through the wrongful act or omission of the Receiving Party.
  • (ii) information that the Receiving Party can demonstrate was already lawfully in its possession prior to receiving it from the Disclosing Party.
  • (iii) information lawfully and unrestrictedly received by the Receiving Party from third parties.
  • (iv) information that the Receiving Party has developed independently without using confidential information.

The Receiving Party may disclose confidential information of the Disclosing Party by order of a court, administrative or other governmental authority, provided that the Disclosing Party is immediately notified in writing and the Disclosing Party is given reasonable opportunity to prevent disclosure or to protect its confidential information.

6. Copyright and trademark law
All elements on the esurance website (www.esurance.ch) and application (app.esurance.ch) belong exclusively to esurance (especially copyright and other rights), unless otherwise stated. Any republication, modification, linking, use, transmission, or copying in whole or in part is prohibited without the prior written consent of esurance. The esurance brand is protected by copyright and registered trademark. In all other respects the provisions of Annex 2, point 2, shall apply.

7. Final provisions

Unilateral changeability: The provisions of this CA can be unilaterally amended by esurance at any time. The customer will be informed about changes. All changes are deemed to be accepted by the customer if the customer does not inform esurance in writing (including electronic message) within 10 days that he/she does not agree with the changes.

Severability clause: Should individual provisions of this CA be wholly or partially illegal, invalid or otherwise void, the validity of the rest of this CA shall not be affected.

Applicable law and place of jurisdiction: This CA and Annexes 1 and 2 are subject to Swiss law, excluding conflicting provisions and the UN Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG). To the extent permitted by law, the exclusive place of jurisdiction is the competent courts at the registered office of esurance.

This document has been translated into several national languages. In the event of divergent interpretation or errors in translation, the German version shall apply exclusively.

Zusammenarbeitsvereinbarung

Diese Zusammenarbeitsvereinbarung (“ZV“) setzt sich zusammen aus den nachfolgenden Bestimmungen sowie dem Anhang 1 (“Brokervertrag“) und dem Anhang 2 (“Plattformvertrag“), welche in ihrer jeweiligen Fassung integralen Bestandteil dieser ZV bilden. Diese ZV regelt das Verhältnis zwischen Ihnen (“Kunde” oder “Sie“) und der esurance AG, Heinrichstrasse 269, 8005 Zürich (“esurance“, einzeln eine “Partei” und gemeinsam die “Parteien“). 

Mit der Annahme dieser ZV bestätigen Sie ausdrücklich, die nachfolgenden Bestimmungen sowie die Bestimmungen im Anhang 1 und im Anhang 2 gelesen und verstanden zu haben und mit ihnen einverstanden sind.

1. Geltungsbereich und Hinweise
esurance betreibt eine Versicherungsplattform, welche Versicherungen, Versicherungsnehmer und gegebenenfalls Vertriebspartner verbindet. Die Angebote auf der Plattform können online direkt, via einem Versicherungsexperten von esurance oder indirekt über einen Vertriebspartner erworben werden. In Abhängigkeit des Zusammenarbeitsmodells zwischen esurance und dem Vertriebspartner besteht zwischen dem Versicherungsnehmer und esurance ein reines Softwarenutzungs- oder ein Kundenbetreuungsverhältnis. Die einzelnen Modelle sind nachfolgend beschrieben:

  • 1.1 Modell reine Plattformnutzung: Der Kunde nutzt die Versicherungsplattform, ohne dass esurance als Versicherungsvermittler (Broker) oder Co-Broker mandatiert wird. Zwischen esurance und dem Kunden besteht ein reines Softwarenutzungsverhältnis.
  • 1.2 Modell indirekte Vermittlung: Der Kunde wird bereits durch einen anderen Broker vertreten. Dieser Broker nutzt die Versicherungsplattform zum Erbringen seiner Leistungen. Der Kunde kann die Versicherungsplattform ebenfalls nutzen. esurance wird für den Kunden als Co-Broker tätig. Zwischen dem Kunden und esurance besteht ein Softwarenutzungs- und ein Co-Kundenbetreuungsverhältnis.
  • 1.3 Modell direkte Vermittlung: Der Kunde nutzt die Versicherungsplattform und mandatiert esurance als Broker. Zwischen dem Kunden und esurance besteht ein Softwarenutzungs- und ein Kundenbetreuungsverhältnis. Dieses Modell kommt zur Anwendung durch die Unterzeichnung eines Brokermandates oder die Tätigung eines Abschluss ohne Unterstützung durch einen Versicherungsungsvermittler. 

Die Bestimmungen in dieser ZV finden auf sämtliche Modelle Anwendung. Die Bestimmungen im Anhang 1 Brokervertrag finden Anwendung auf das Modell direkte und indirekte Vermittlung. Die Bestimmungen im Anhang 2 Plattformvertrag finden auf sämtliche Modelle Anwendung.

Wir weisen Sie darauf hin, dass Sie mit der Nutzung der Dienstleistungen und Kommunikation mit esurance gegebenenfalls Leistungen und Dienste anderer Anbieter in Anspruch nehmen (wie z.B. Netzanbieter, Mobilfunkanbieter, Mailprovider, etc.). Die Inanspruchnahme solcher Leistungen und Dienste unterliegt den Nutzungsbedingungen dieser Anbieter und ist von der vorliegenden ZV unabhängig.

2. Vertragsdauer und Beendigung
Diese ZV tritt mit der Zustimmung des Kunden in Kraft. Dauer und Kündigung dieser ZV richten sich nach den Bestimmungen im Anhang 1 und im Anhang 2.

3. Beizug Dritter
esurance ist berechtigt zur Erbringung der Dienstleistungen Dritte beizuziehen. esurance bleibt für die Einhaltung der vertraglichen Verpflichtungen und der gesetzlichen Vorschriften verantwortlich. 

4. Datenschutz
esurance verpflichtet sich zur Einhaltung der gesetzlichen Bestimmungen über den Datenschutz. esurance bearbeitet Personendaten des Kunden entsprechend den Datenschutzbestimmungen (DSE), welche insbesondere erläutern, wie und zu welchen Zwecken esurance die vom Kunden zur Verfügung gestellten Personendaten erhebt, nutzt, speichert, weitergibt und schützt. esurance darf Personendaten nur für folgende Zwecke bearbeiten: (i) um Leistungen aus dieser ZV zu erbringen, weiterzuentwickeln oder zu verbessern. (ii) um alle zur Erfüllung dieser ZV notwendigen Schritte zu erfüllen. (iii) wie anderweitig in der DSE dokumentiert. Die DSE bilden in ihrer jeweiligen Fassung einen integralen Bestandteil dieser ZV. Mit Zustimmung zu dieser ZV erklären Sie, die DSE gelesen und verstanden zu haben und erklären sich ausdrücklich mit ihnen einverstanden.

Der Kunde sichert zu und gewährleistet, dass die Bearbeitung der zur Verfügung gestellten Personendaten durch esurance keine Rechte Dritter verletzt. Der Kunde sichert zu und gewährleistet, dass er alle anwendbaren Gesetzesbestimmungen zum Schutz der Privatsphäre und des Datenschutzes einhält und dass er alle erforderlichen Rechte und Einwilligungen erhalten hat, um Personendaten, die er esurance zur Verfügung stellt oder auf die esurance Zugriff hat, an esurance weiterzugeben und die Bearbeitung dieser Daten zu erlauben.

5. Vertraulichkeit
Beide Parteien (“offenlegende Partei“) können der anderen Partei (“empfangende Partei“) vertrauliche Informationen offenlegen, einschliesslich Informationen über den Bestand, die Leistungen und den weiteren Inhalt dieser ZV und deren Anhänge (“vertrauliche Informationen“). Die empfangende Partei verpflichtet sich, vertrauliche Informationen der offenlegenden Partei grundsätzlich mit der gleichen Sorgfalt zu behandeln, die sie zum Schutz ihrer eigenen Informationen der gleichen Art anwendet, jedoch mindestens mit dem angemessenen Mass an Sorgfalt. Die empfangende Partei verwendet vertrauliche Informationen ausschliesslich zur Erbringung, Weiterentwicklung und Verbesserung ihrer Leistungen oder zur Ausübung ihrer Pflichten aus dieser ZV. Die empfangende Partei darf vertrauliche Informationen nur an Personen und Dritte weitergeben, wenn dies zur Erbringung, Weiterentwicklung und Verbesserung ihrer Leistungen oder zur Ausübung ihrer Pflichten aus dieser ZV notwendig ist und sichergestellt ist, dass diese Personen an Bestimmungen gebunden sind, welche nicht weniger streng sind, als die Bestimmungen in diesem Abschnitt. Darüber hinaus dürfen die Parteien vertrauliche Informationen nur nach vorgängiger, ausdrücklicher und schriftlicher Zustimmung der anderen Partei an Dritte weitergeben. Diese Vertraulichkeitsverpflichtung bleibt auch nach Beendigung dieser ZV bestehen.

Folgende Informationen gelten nicht als vertrauliche Informationen:

  • (i) Informationen, die öffentlich bekannt gemacht und allgemein zugänglich gemacht wurden, es sei denn durch unrechtmässige Handlung oder Unterlassung der empfangenden Partei.
  • (ii) Informationen, bei denen die empfangende Partei nachweisen kann, dass sich diese bereits rechtmässig in ihrem Besitz befanden, bevor sie diese von der offenlegenden Partei erhielt.
  • (iii) Informationen, die die empfangende Partei rechtmässig und ohne Einschränkungen von Dritten erhalten hat.
  • (iv) Informationen, die die empfangende Partei sich unabhängig entwickelt hat, ohne vertrauliche Informationen zu verwenden.

Die empfangende Partei kann vertrauliche Informationen der offenlegenden Partei auf Anordnung eines Gerichts, einer Verwaltungsbehörde oder einer sonstigen Regierungsbehörde offenlegen, wenn die offenlegende Partei sofort schriftlich benachrichtigt wird und der offenlegenden Partei so angemessen die Möglichkeit gegeben wird, die Offenlegung zu verhindern oder ihre vertraulichen Informationen zu schützen.

6. Copyright und Markenrecht
Sämtliche Elemente auf der Webseite von esurance (www.esurance.ch) und Applikation (app.esurance.ch) gehören ausschliesslich esurance (insbesondere Urheber- und andere Rechte), sofern nichts Anderes erwähnt ist. Jegliche Wiederveröffentlichung, das Modifizieren, Verknüpfen, Benutzen, Übermitteln sowie das vollständige oder teilweise Kopieren sind ohne vorgängige schriftliche Zustimmung von esurance untersagt. Die Marke esurance ist urheberrechtlich geschützt und markenrechtlich registriert. Es gelten im Übrigen die Bestimmungen im Anhang 2 Ziff. 2.

7. Schlussbestimmungen
Einseitige Abänderbarkeit: Die Bestimmungen dieser ZV können jederzeit von esurance einseitig abgeändert werden. Der Kunde wird über Änderungen informiert. Sämtliche Änderungen gelten als vom Kunden akzeptiert, wenn der Kunde esurance nicht innerhalb von 10 Tagen in Textform (inkl. elektronischer Text) mitteilt, dass er mit den Änderungen nicht einverstanden ist.

Salvatorische Klausel: Sollten einzelne Bestimmungen dieser ZV ganz oder teilweise rechtswidrig, ungültig oder anderweitig unwirksam sein, so wird dadurch die Wirksamkeit dieser ZV im Übrigen nicht berührt.

Anwendbares Recht und Gerichtsstand: Diese ZV sowie die Anhänge 1 und 2 unterstehen schweizerischem Recht unter Ausschluss der konfliktrechtlichen Bestimmungen sowie des UN Übereinkommens über den internationalen Warenkauf (CISG). Ausschliesslicher Gerichtsstand ist, soweit gesetzlich zulässig, die zuständigen Gerichte am Sitz von esurance.